// you’re reading...

Misc

Latest Facebook Social Virus – codecsetup.exe – Google links

Over the past week i’ve noticed a rise in Facebook spam messages linking to video sites, the message consists of links such as

http://google.com/search?hl=en&q=easyautoskola&btnI=0&/?a=F0F2EFE6E9ECE5AEE1EBAEE6E1E3E5E2EFEFEBAEE3EFED

AFF6B2B2B3AFB1B7B0B2AFB3B6AFF1B5B6B1B8B0B5B1B8B2DFB6B3B1B7AEEAF0E7&b=C1EEE4F2E5F7A0C3F2EFEFEBF3

http://google.mu/search?hl=en&q=sbestfood&btnI=1187250

The first link seems to have been taken down by the ISP but the second is still alive, and it takes you to the site:

http://www.sbestfood.com/video/fb/

Spoofed Video Sharing Site!

This is a social networking attack, when someone opens the site, they are prompted to download a file called codecsetup.exe this is prompted to the user on every link on the site, do not download or run this file! The current purpose of the virus is to continue to distribute it self, it will most likely attempt to convert your computer into a “zombie” at the attackers will to help out with online attacks such as DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service).

As of this moment, none of the major virus companies have identifies this file as a virus, so becarefull and do not assume that you are safe because your anti-virus is not warning you!

Discussion

No comments for “Latest Facebook Social Virus – codecsetup.exe – Google links”

Post a comment